Opposites

Words bridge the gap between your world and mine
Touching one another where our hands cannot
My fingers brush yours as I whisper goodnight
Though my hand lies alone on the pillow
We both look ahead with each move we make
Tracing our steps through different sands
And your bright wandering eyes never lock onto mine
Though I could never, never forget them
It’s raining here, but the sun shines on your face
And darkens the skin on your shoulders
Creating new unfamiliar patterns of dots
That I’ll trace with my fingers, eyelashes, and lips
And try to memorise when we’re next together
But when it feels like the world is crashing around me
My tears fall unseen into empty hands
And leave my skin damp and trembling, cold as ice
Because you’re not here to wipe them away

Leave a Reply

